Baltimore Assault & Battery Lawyers
Maryland Laws on Assault & Battery
If you have been accused of any type of assault or battery, you could be facing either a misdemeanor or felony charge depending on the circumstances. A conviction could land you in jail or impose heavy fines and leave you with a permanent criminal record. Assault and battery crimes can occur in all kinds of situations, between neighbors, in altercations at nightclubs, bars, sporting events, and other locations, in a domestic situation, and in other public gatherings. Being arrested in any of these circumstances can be embarrassing as well as scary, especially if you have never been in trouble with the law before.
If you or someone you know has been charged with any type of assault crime in or around the greater Baltimore area, your first thought should be to secure competent legal help. Being thrown into the criminal justice system can be confusing and stressful involving language, proceedings, and decisions you may not understand. At T. Wray McCurdy, P.A., you can work with a team of Baltimore assault and battery defense attorneys who have handled more than 22,000 cases and have earned high peer-reviewed ratings in so doing.
What is Considered Assault in the State of Maryland?
“Assault and battery” is a common phrase referring to the attempt to cause physical harm (assault) as well as the actual causation of physical harm (battery) to another. While many states differentiate assault from battery with statutes and penalties defining both separately, Maryland does not. Maryland incorporates all assault and battery actions under the umbrella of “assault.”
Assault in Maryland is described as:
- attempting to physically harm another (even if you never make contact with the other person),
- putting another in imminent fear of physical harm,
- or actually committing physical harm or some type of unwanted contact against the other person.
Thus, in Maryland, you can be charged with assault by making a threat against someone, spitting on someone, throwing a rock at someone and missing, or throwing a rock that makes contact, causing a cut or bruise.
How you are charged will depend on which type of assault was involved. No injury is required for you to be charged but assaults involving injury carry greater penalties. In each case, it is a matter of severity or degree.
What are the Penalties for Assault in Maryland?
Assault charges can include:
- Second-degree misdemeanor assault carrying penalties of up to 10 years in prison and/or fines of up to $2,500
- First-degree felony assault punishable by up to 25 years in prison; charged where a weapon was used or where serious bodily injury was attempted or caused
A “serious bodily injury” refers to physical damage that could lead to death or cause permanent harm to the victim.
Maryland also has specific statutes regarding the assault of law enforcement officers and other public servants such as firefighters, emergency medical personnel, parole or probation officers, and first responders.
Capable Legal Assistance from T. Wray McCurdy, P.A.
An assault charge could sideline your personal and professional life for a long time and make the future difficult due to a criminal record that can be easily accessed by others. Your best action is to ensure that your legal rights are protected and that you have a trusted professional pursuing your best interests throughout the entire criminal justice proceeding. All of that and more can be accomplished when you turn to our firm’s accomplished legal team. We will fight for you and be by your side every step of the way as we seek the most favorable outcome possible.